Page tree

The Target tab of the Restore Policy wizard allows you to specify the server, database name, and restore schedule for your new database. 

You can perform the following actions:

  • Select the instance where your target database is.
  • Select the database you want to update or create a new one.
  • Specify the location of the data and log files of the restored database. SQL Safe displays each database file (by logical name) and the directory where each will be restored.
  • Choose the appropriate recovery state for the database (Fully Accessible, Accessible but read-only, or Not Accessible).
  • Schedule when the Agent should execute the restore job.
  • Select other restore options.

How do you change the location of your database files?

If SQL Safe does not display the correct location where you want to restore a file, click  Select in the Database File Locations section and change it to your preferred location.

The Database File Locations window allows you to manage the paths where SQL Safe restores new data and log files. Files names are created automatically, using the file type and destination database for easier identification.

Can you access your files during the restore operation?

To access your files while SQL Safe executes the restore operation, choose from the following options:

  • Fully Accessible - Leaves the database operational. No additional transaction logs can be restored.
  • Accessible but read-only (standby mode) - Leaves the database non-operational but able to restore additional transaction logs.
  • Not accessible (no recovery mode) - Leaves the database in read-only state and able to restore additional transaction logs.

How do you set the restore schedule?

You can click Schedule on the Restore Job option and set the frequency and the duration of your restore policy job.

How do you restore the SQL logins for this database?

You can recover SQL logins associated with this database by selecting the Restore database logins option. You can use this option when the source backup files contain login information. To capture login information, configure your backup policy to include the database logins.

When you choose a database file with ".bak" or native format, the option Restore database logins is disabled.

What do you do if you have users connected to the database?

You can instruct SQL Safe to disconnect users from the database before performing the restore. To do so, select the  Disconnect users option from the restore options.

What other additional options do you have?

Additionally, you have the following options when performing your restore:

  • Ignore checksum errors - Select this option to ignore any errors from the generated checksum. If checksum errors are encountered, this option indicates that SQL Safe should continue to back up this database.
  • Preserve replication settings - Choose this option to retain the settings used when the selected databases were replicated.

After defining your setting in this tab, click Next to configure your notifications.


SQL Safe is a high-performance backup and recovery solution for your SQL Servers. Learn more > >