The Jobs tab allows you to perform actions on a single job or on several selected jobs. You can find these options by clicking the gear icon under the Actions column. Keep in mind that some options can only be applied to one job at a time.
What actions can you perform on a single job?
On a single job, you can perform any of the following actions allows you to:
- Start Job - Start a job.
- Stop Job - Stop a job. This option is only enabled when the selected job is running.
- Enable Job - Enable a job. This option is only enabled when the selected job is disabled.
- Disable Job - Disable a job. This option is only enabled when the selected job is enabled.
- Refresh Job - Get the latest information from the job.
- Delete Job - Delete the selected job. You cannot undo this operation.
- View History - Access the history of the selected job. When you click this option, SQL Enterprise Job Manager displays the Job History tab filtered by the selected job.
- Edit Job - Edit the configuration settings of the job. When you click this option, SQL Enterprise Job Manager opens the job wizard where you can edit/change its general settings, steps, schedules, alerts, notifications, or targets.
- Copy Job - Create a copy of the selected job. SQL Enterprise Job Manager opens the Job Wizard with the configuration settings of the selected job. You can choose to copy an identical job or change settings according to your requirements.
- Copy Job Item and Update Tokens - Create a job with tokens to new instances with the option to replace tokens with provided values.
What bulk actions can you perform on several jobs?
You can select several jobs and perform bulk actions on them. For this purpose, select your jobs using the checkbox on their left side.
Click the gear icon of any selected job, and SQL Enterprise Job Manager displays the following options available for your selected jobs:
- Start Job - This allows you to start the selected jobs.
- Stop Job - This allows you to stop the selected jobs.
- Enable Job - This lets you enable the disabled selected jobs.
- Disable Job - This lets you disable the enabled selected jobs.
- Refresh Job - This lets you refresh the information of all selected jobs.
- Delete Job - This allows you to delete all selected jobs. You cannot undo this operation.
- Edit Job - This allows you to perform changes on the selected jobs. The bulk options available when editing multiple jobs are: adding a description, enabling/disabling them, assigning them a maintenance mode, assigning a new schedule (schedules in each individual job are maintained), and adding notifications.
Read-only users cannot Start, Stop, Enable, Disable, or Delete Jobs. As a read-only user, you can only view the properties of a job but you cannot edit them.